Bovina, Texas Regular Meeting March 4, 2013

Denise Anderson, Superintendent

The Board of Trustees of Bovina ISD met in regular session March 4, 2013 in the administration building of Bovina Schools at 500 Halsell Street in Bovina, Texas. The meeting was called to order at 5:55 p.m. by President Larry Mitchell. Teague gave the invocation.

Members present: Brozek, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, Teague and Mitchell Members tardy: none Members absent: none Staff present: Anderson, Arias, Sealey and Guevara Visitors present: Dean Jacobs, Matt Meland, Trey Novosad, Greg Kort, Fred Stormer, Neal Brown, Stan Miller, Darlene Miller, Martha Morris, Celia Quintana, Heather Miller, Juan Pinela, Justin Curtis, & Lory Noriega

The board entered closed executive session as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code 551.087 at 5:55 p.m. The board came out of executive session at 6:40 p.m.

The Board entered into Public Hearing for Cargill, Inc. Application for Appraised Value Limitation on Qualified Property.

Brozek made the motion to accept the findings of fact L approve agreement presented to enter into the Agreement for Limitation on Appraised Value of Property for School District Maintenance L Operation Taxes with Cargill, Inc. Teague seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.

Regular Session 6:40pm

- A. The Board recognized Student & Staff Achievements.
 - Introduce Employee of the Month: Martha Morris
 - The Board heard report from the Elementary Principal. No action was taken.
 - The Board heard report from the Middle School Principal. No action was taken.
 - The Board heard report from the High School Principal. Board was invited by Student Council students to attend the presentation of plaque for Sergio Antillon on Friday, March 8, 2013, 10:00 am.
 - The Board heard reports from the Athletic Director. No action was taken.
- B. Brozek made the motion to approve Monthly Financials, Reports and Minutes as presented. Teague seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- C. Leuea made the motion to accept Superintendent's recommendation to approve the Bovina ISD Emergency Operations Plan as presented Gonzalez seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- D. Carson made the motion to approve Superintendent's recommendation to extend the current depository contract. Gonzalez seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- E. Personnel.

- Carson made the motion to accept the Superintendent's recommendation to extend Term Contracts to Wayne Anderson (1/2 day), Rachel Avalos, Dick Chitwood, Linda Douglas, Laura Hill, Caroline Kron, Luanne Landess, Pam Lockmiller, Randy Ragland, Betty Rich, Lanelle Skaggs, Janie Sudderth, Arthur Tunnell, , Doris Harrison, Sam Herring, Helen Deen, , Trace Landess, Alyssa Anaya, Lacey Field, Courtney Potter, Taryn Wilford, Martha Morris, Sarah Stevens, Tina Sides, Joanne Luscombe, Holly Burgin, Amy Kerby, Lisa Gallegos, Michelle Durham, Leeann Christesson, Delayne Duffy, Lupe Vidaurri, and Kris Galvan for the 2013-2014 school year. Teague seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- 2. Leuea made the motion to accept the Superintendent's recommendation to extend Dual Assignment Term Contracts to Brad Walker, Jason Anaya, Jose Gonzales, Daniel Mejia, Jay Thackston, Eric Montemayor and Dan Castillo for the 2013-14 school year. Brozek seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed
- 3. Leuea made the motion to accept the Superintendent's recommendation to employ Janna Fennell, Mona Bermea and Scott Hill with Probationary Contracts for the 2013-2014 school year. Brozek seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed
- 4. Gonzalez made the motion to accept the Superintendent's recommendation to employ Chris Antillon with a Probationary Contract for the 2013-14 school year if he obtains his teaching certificate through SBEC by May 17, 2013. If not, he will be recommended for Non-Renewal. When Certification is met he may re-apply for position. Leuea seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- 5. Teague made the motion to accept Superintendent's recommendation to accept the resignation of Todd Kilpatrick as head Girls Basketball Coach. Carson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- F. Mitchell made the motion to approve Superintendent's recommendation to re-assign Elida Villarreal as superintendent secretary and to re-assign Amy Montemayor as Finance Clerk for the 2013-14 school year and to approve salary schedule as presented. Leuea seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously Brozek, Teague, Quintana, Gonzalez, Carson, Leuea, and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- G. Leuea made to motion to amend the 2012-2013 budget as presented. Gonzalez seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Leuea, Carson, Quintana and Mitchell voting for and none opposed.
- H. The Board heard reports from Superintendent Anderson. Special Maintenance Projects: (Roof) Updates: (March 29 school day) Good New- District Level: none Update on calendar events: none Continuing education opportunities for Board members: (at ESC16) Next regular Board meeting: April 8, 2013
 I. Cevea made the motion to adjourn at 8:28 nm. Cevea seconded the motion. The motion
- I. Leuea made the motion to adjourn at 8:28 pm. Leuea seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Brozek, Teague, Carson, Leuea, Gonzalez, Quintana and Mitchell voting for and none against.

President_ Secretary_